Spring Flowers

Cowslips

It has been so wet recently that I have not spent much time in my garden but during a brief sunny spell I went out to take photographs of some of the spring flowers. Ever since I moved in 18 years ago I have been encouraging wild flowers by leaving an area of grass uncut till the end of the summer. Two things are doing really well there, wild marjoram which I harvest as a herb, and cowslips, which are looking particularly good at the moment.

Bluebells

I don’t actually remember planting them but for the last few years I have had bluebells under the apple tree and they are slowly spreading. According to Plants for a Future bluebells have no known edible uses but the bulb has diuretic and styptic properties. An excellent paper glue can apparently be obtained from the sap of the bulb and stem.

Forget-me-nots

Underneath my redcurrant bushes next to a south facing fence seems to be the ideal environment for forget-me-nots which are growing in profusion. The scientific name is Myosotis, from the Greek “mouse’s ear”, after the leaf. Henry David Threau wrote, “The mouse-ear forget-me-not, Myosotis laxa, has now extended its racemes very much, and hangs over the edge of the brook. It is one of the most interesting minute flowers. It is the more beautiful for being small and unpretending; even flowers must be modest.”

One response to “Spring Flowers

  1. Pingback: June Flowers | The Mobius

Leave a Reply

