September Flowers

I don’t think I will get many more flowers before winter sets in so this will probably be my last post in the series. My August entry featured photos taken on August 5th but this month I didn’t get snapping till the 29th. So almost seven weeks have passed and in that time the flowers on my hibiscus came and went but the hydrangea which was in bloom back then is still not done, as you can see.

Hydrangea still flowering.

Hydrangea still flowering.



Going back even further, my July entry featured a delicate pink Geranium. This month I have different pink Geranium in flower, slightly darker and with the five petals overlapping.

Geranium

Geranium

One more thing that has appeared before in my blog is Morning Glory (the common name for over 1,000 species of flowering plants in the family Convolvulaceae). That was in my 2011 Roundup where I included a photo of a single flower of a Heavenly Blue cultivar. This year I planted a load of seeds I saved last year and have ended up with a mixture of purple and white flowers which are nice enough, though Heavenly Blue is definitely my favourite.

Morning Glory

Morning Glory

Sedum (also known as stonecrop) is a large genus of flowering plants in the family Crassulaceae. Plants have water storing leaves which are apparently edible. The species used for green roofs are generally low creeping plants but the one flowering now in my garden (Autumn Joy) grows quite tall. I was skeptical about the edibility claim but I just went out and picked a leaf and can report that it is not unpleasant.

Autumn Joy

Autumn Joy

Cyclamen is a genus of 23 species of flowering plants which grow from tubers. The flowers are pink or white or a combination and there is one flowering nicely under my apple tree.

Cyclamen

Cyclamen

There has been a lot of pink in this post so now for something completely different. Oenothera biennis is also known as common evening primrose, evening star or sun drop. As its name suggests it is a biennial. I have at least half a dozen plants that naturally propagated from seed but which will not flower until next year. I also have a couple of plants that are in their second year and this one looks great against the bright blue background of a plastic water barrel.

Evening Primrose

Evening Primrose

I am getting some nice windfall cooking apples and will soon be picking and juicing grapes from the vine but as far as flowers go that is about it. Thanks for reading, and remember you can view larger versions of all photos just by clicking on them

Leave a Reply

